Uninvited Review

April 2, 2014 Reviews 6 ★★★★

Uninvited ReviewUninvited by Sophie Jordan
Series: Uninvited #1
Publisher: HarperCollins
Date Published: 2014-01-28
Genres: Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Format: Audiobook
Pages: 384
Audiobook Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
Audiobook Narrator: Rebecca Gibel
Rating: four-stars
Description: The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

[title]

Julie Review Avatar Julie’s Review:

I read several interviews where Ms. Jordan says outright that Uninvited is not a dystopia. I have to respectfully disagree. It is absolutely one. Just look at the definition:

dys·to·pi·a

n.

1. An imaginary place or state in which the condition of life is extremely bad, as from deprivation, oppression, or terror.

2. A work describing such a place or state.

I think the condition of life is especially bad in the world of Uninvited, especially for the Carriers. In this world, a DNA test can identify you as a carrier of the Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, and now you’re not only an outcast, but you get kicked out of any special schools, have a hard time getting a good job, etc. It is a horror for someone like Davy, who is a gifted musician who got accepted to Julliard. Well, that was before her DNA test results came in. Now she’s labeled a “killer”. It doesn’t matter that she is docile and sweet. She has the “potential” to hurt someone, and now her life plans are ruined.

I enjoyed the way the story unfolded: the way we learned about HTS, the reasoning behind the DNA testing and imprinting of the carriers who have shown violent tendencies, the news clips, all of it. I think this story was really well written and the plot developed at a comfortable pace. I also really liked the characters. Davy, who is scared but knows she has to accept her fate, who surprises even herself to find out what she is capable of when forced to protect herself or a loved one. Sean, the mysterious boy who continues to help Davy when she gets herself in trouble, even while telling her not to trust anyone. Even Gil, the little nerdy boy who seems to be more compassionate than volatile. This story definitely has a good cast of characters. 

Uninvited also brings up some really important topics for discussion. Are we what our DNA says we are, or do the labels society put on us determine our actions? Would some of the carriers have performed the violent acts if they weren’t ostracized for being carriers before they even did anything? How would we react when put in some of the situations the characters were forced into? I don’t know, but I’m pretty sure I’d be labeled a carrier too. 

The only complaint I have is I wasn’t a fan of the audio narrator. I found her voice kind of annoying. This was strange because I’ve listened to another of her books before and didn’t have this issue with it. I can’t quite put my finger on what it was, but her voice just grated on my nerves in this book. Oh well, can’t win them all. 

The book ends in a good set up for the second book, so I’m looking forward to reading Uninvited 2. Or whatever it will be called. When, Sophie Jordan, when?



Note: Some posts may contain affiliate links. Should you choose to purchase a product, we will receive a small commission for the sale at no additional cost to you. Chapter Break is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Rating Report
Plot
Characters
Writing
Romance
Narration
Overall: 3.9

Subscribe to Chapter Break posts.

Never miss a post on Chapter Break. Subscribe today for all the bookish awesome in your inbox.

Join 17,194 other subscribers

6 Responses to “Uninvited Review”

  1. Jessica @ Rabid Reads

    *snickers* Don’t you love it when authors try claim their books are something that they’re not (or vice versa)? Despite those kinds of disagreements, this still sounds really good. I’ve always loved the nature vs nurture debate. And I’ll make sure to read, rather than listen to this one. Great review, Julie!
    Jessica @ Rabid Reads recently posted…Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

    • Julie

      I do! Lately that’s most of what I do is listen to audio books. My commute is long, so audio books are awesome! 🙂

  2. Braine Talk Supe

    I’ve heard so many great things about this author I got her contemporary books. I was told she’s a really great writer regardless of the genre, I decided to start with the contemporary ones as I don’t read YA fantasy of late, hopefully I’ll become a fan too!
    Braine Talk Supe recently posted…Loved It: The King by J.R. Ward

    • Julie

      I’ve only read her YA and NA since I’m not a big fan of historical romances. I really like her style and her personality. She’s local to me so I see her at a lot of events.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge