Monthly Archives:: October 2016

Oct 31
Sir Kaye Legend of the Forest Beast: Book Blog Tour, Guest Post, and Giveaway! #LoneStarLit

Sir Kaye Legend of the Forest Beast: Book Blog Tour, Guest Post, and Giveaway! #LoneStarLit

  SIR KAYE THE BOY KNIGHT BOOK 3   LEGEND OF THE  FOREST BEAST by     Don M. Winn Genre: Children’s / Chapter Book / Medieval Publisher: Progressive Rising Phoenix Press Date of Publication: July 8, 2016 Number of Pages: 178   Scroll down for Giveaway!   The beloved tutor Alchir has vanished! And a dangerous criminal with a grudge against Alchir has just escaped from prison. Kaye is determined to find the tutor and earn a fine reputation as a knight. The search leads Kaye, Reggie, and Beau to a sinister manor house at the edge of a… Read more »

Divider

Oct 30
Chat Between Chapters: Scruffy/Bearded characters

Chat Between Chapters: Scruffy/Bearded characters

 So let’s just chat about those scruffy dudes with beards, shall we?  Julie: Goodreads likes lists. And I like to search lists. Goodreads has these cool lists about bearded dudes: Gotta Love a Man with a Beard Best Bearded Heroes I do not appear to have read any of them. Which sounds like I’m missing out.   Lynn: I’m pretty sure if I were a dude, I’d have an epic beard. I come from a long line of beards. My list of favorite beards includes: Zeb from Hagrid and Dumbledore from Radcliffe Emerson from the series Galdolf, Saruman, and the… Read more »

Divider

Oct 29
Chapter Break Bingo – October 2016 Completed Cards

Chapter Break Bingo – October 2016 Completed Cards

Alright everyone, did you fill out your Bookish Bingo Cards? Share your cards, and link up your posts below! Recap of the rules: Each month we will upload a new bingo card. You download the bingo card and mark off squares as you read books each month. At the end of the month, we will post our own bingo cards. Link up your post or post your own bingo card in the comments. The monthly winner will be the person with the most marked squares. None of that across, diagonal, up and down, corners stuff. Just the number of squares…. Read more »

Divider

Oct 28
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Movie Review

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Movie Review

Description: When Jacob discovers clues to a mystery that spans different worlds and times, he finds a magical place known as Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. But the mystery and danger deepen as he gets to know the residents and learns about their special powers… and their powerful enemies. Ultimately, Jacob discovers that only his own special “peculiarity” can save his new friends. Director: Tim Burton Staring: Eva Green, Asa Butterfield Info from IMDB   I don’t really remember much about reading Miss Peregrine. Outside of being bored. And worrying that the super creepy photos mean the book would be… Read more »

Divider

Oct 26
Chat About Covers: Fomorian Earth

Chat About Covers: Fomorian Earth

  We’re starting a new feature here on Chapter Break called Chat About Covers. ‘Cause you know we all judge books by covers, whether we admit it or not. We judge the style, the color and font choices, and just the overall look. That might not keep us from reading the book, but we do still judge.   This book is particularly bad. It has two covers, one on Goodreads and one on Amazon for Kindle, and both are horrendous, wouldn’t you say? The one on the left looks like a bad Star Wars impression.  WTF is up with that… Read more »

Divider

Oct 24
Book Review – A Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons 1)

Book Review – A Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons 1)

The Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons Book 1) by Kaitlyn Davis Series: Dance of Dragons #1 Publisher: Kaitlyn Davis Date Published: February 13th 2015 Genres: Coming of Age, Dragons, Unicorns & Mythical, Fantasy & Magic, Legends, Myths, Fables, Young Adult Format: eBook Pages: 300 Rating: Description: From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes a fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Kristin Cashore, and Tamora Pierce! Told in alternating male and female perspectives, THE SHADOW SOUL has been hailed as “an amazing start to a new series that is going to have people of all ages wanting so… Read more »

Divider

Oct 23
Chat Between Chapters: Magazines

Chat Between Chapters: Magazines

 Do you read magazines? Which ones?  Julie: When I was a teenager I read all the magazines. You know, Teen, YM, Seventeen. For a while I read Cosmo. I more recently used some expiring airline miles to get the smart magazines, like Time, and Parents. But dude, who has time to read magazines? If I read, I prefer my novels. ha. So I just have piles of magazines lying around and eventually getting thrown out.   Lynn: Unlike Julie, I’m pro magazine. I’m always tempted by their shiny covers while I’m waiting in line at the store. What I like… Read more »

Divider

Oct 21
Book Review – The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)

Book Review – The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead Series: The Glittering Court #1 Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group Date Published: 2016-04 Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult Format: Audiobook Pages: 416 Audiobook Length: 12 hours 53 minutes Audiobook Narrator: Kristen Sieh Rating: Description: Big and sweeping, spanning from the refined palaces of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape an arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join the Glittering Court…. Read more »

Divider

Oct 20
What Books Taught Us -Time Travel

What Books Taught Us -Time Travel

Have you checked out our various Features pages lately? Julie and I are all about Features posts. (Who doesn’t need an occasional break from reviews?) In this new feature post, we will be discussing What Books Taught Us. And no, we don’t mean cooking, crafting, or organizing. We are talking about serious, useful skills. Like how to Time Travel. We want to make sure all of our readers are prepared! We all know the tricky rules to time travel. These books have helped us keep those rules straight. Find a magical passageway and meet a Highlander: I don’t know if… Read more »

Divider

Oct 18
Interview with Nicky Peacock

Interview with Nicky Peacock

Author Interview with Nicky Peacock At what point did you decide to be an author and what was your path to publication? I can’t remember a time I didn’t want to be an author. But it was only back in 2010 that I started to take my dream seriously. I began writing short stories for the anthology market. I’d previously tried writing novels but had always lost interest halfway through. Short stories seemed to be a good way for me to learn how to finish something (something you wouldn’t think is a skill, but is) Next thing I knew I… Read more »

Divider