Genre: Family

Divider

May 05
Book Review – Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer #1)

Book Review – Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer #1)

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor Series: Strange the Dreamer #1 Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Date Published: March 28th 2017 Genres: Action & Adventure, Epic, Family, Fantasy, Friendship, Young Adult Fiction Format: eBook Pages: 544 Audiobook Length: 18 hours 20 minutes Audiobook Narrator: Steve West Rating: Description: A new epic fantasy by National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author Laini Taylor of the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy. The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around–and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly…. Read more »

Divider

Aug 08
Bookish Chat – I’ll Give You the Sun

Bookish Chat – I’ll Give You the Sun

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson Publisher: Dial Books Date Published: 2014 Genres: Death & Dying, Family, Love & Romance, Siblings, Social Issues, Young Adult Format: Audiobook Pages: 371 Audiobook Length: 12 hours 57 minutes Audiobook Narrator: Jesse Bernstein, Julia Whelan Source: Free audiobook download from Sync summer audio pairings Rating: Description: The New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, Jenny Offill, Emma Straub, and Rainbow Rowell Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with… Read more »

Divider

May 20
Book Review – Secret Garden

Book Review – Secret Garden

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett Publisher: Random House Value Publishing Date Published: 1998, First Published 1911 Genres: Classics, Family, JUVENILE FICTION, Orphans & Foster Homes Format: Audiobook Pages: 288 Audiobook Length: 8 hours 30 minutes Audiobook Narrator: Susie Berneis Rating: Description: What secrets lie behind the doors at Misselthwaite Manor? Recently arrived at her uncle’s estate, orphaned Mary Lennox is spoiled, sickly, and certain she won’t enjoy living there. Then she discovers the arched doorway into an overgrown garden, shut up since the death of her aunt ten years earlier. Mary soon begins transforming it into a thing… Read more »

Divider

Apr 29
Book Review – The Marriage of Opposites

Book Review – The Marriage of Opposites

The Marriage of Opposites by Alice Hoffman Publisher: Simon and Schuster Date Published: August 4th 2015 Genres: 19th Century, Family, Fiction, Historical, Jewish Format: Audiobook Pages: 384 Audiobook Length: 13 hours 36 minutes Audiobook Narrator: Gloria Reuben, Santino Fontana, Tina Benko Rating: Description: “[A] luminous, Marquez-esque tale.” —O, The Oprah Magazine From the New York Times bestselling author of The Dovekeepers and The Museum of Extraordinary Things: a forbidden love story set on the tropical island of St. Thomas about the extraordinary woman who gave birth to painter Camille Pissarro—the Father of Impressionism. Growing up on idyllic St. Thomas in… Read more »

Divider

Dec 18
Book Review – Winter Town

Book Review – Winter Town

Winter Town by Stephen Emond Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Date Published: December 5th 2011 Genres: Adolescence, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Parents, Social Issues, Young Adult Format: Hardcover Pages: 336 Rating: Description: Every winter, straight-laced, Ivy League bound Evan looks forward to a visit from Lucy, a childhood pal who moved away after her parent’s divorce. But when Lucy arrives this year, she’s changed. The former “girl next door” now has chopped dyed black hair, a nose stud, and a scowl. But Evan knows that somewhere beneath the Goth, “Old Lucy” still exists, and he’s determined to… Read more »

Divider