Posts By: Lynn

Aug 12
Book Review and Giveaway – Deadly Encounter (FBI Task Force #1) #LoneStarLit

Book Review and Giveaway – Deadly Encounter (FBI Task Force #1) #LoneStarLit

DEADLY ENCOUNTER (FBI: Task Force) by DiAnn Mills Genre: Romance / Suspense / Christian Publisher: Tyndale House Date of Publication: August 1, 2016 Number of Pages: 376 Scroll down for Giveaway!   Airport Ranger volunteer Stacy Broussard expected a peaceful Saturday morning ride around the perimeter of Houston’s airport. What she encounters instead is a brutal homicide and a baffling mystery. Next to the body is an injured dog, the dead man’s motorcycle, and a drone armed with a laser capable of taking down a 747. Though FBI Special Agent Alex LeBlanc sees a clear-cut case of terrorism, his past… Read more »

Divider

Aug 11
Chat About Covers: The Kingdom of Oceana

Chat About Covers: The Kingdom of Oceana

  We’re starting a new feature here on Chapter Break called Chat About Covers. ‘Cause you know we all judge books by covers, whether we admit it or not. We judge the style, the color and font choices, and just the overall look. That might not keep us from reading the book, but we do still judge.   I both like, and don’t like this cover. I like the illustrative nature of it – that it isn’t a real photograph but a sweet artist drawing. I like that a lot. I love the waves, even if they are kind of… Read more »

Divider

Aug 08
Bookish Chat – I’ll Give You the Sun

Bookish Chat – I’ll Give You the Sun

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson Publisher: Dial Books Date Published: 2014 Genres: Death & Dying, Family, Love & Romance, Siblings, Social Issues, Young Adult Format: Audiobook Pages: 371 Audiobook Length: 12 hours 57 minutes Audiobook Narrator: Jesse Bernstein, Julia Whelan Source: Free audiobook download from Sync summer audio pairings Rating: Description: The New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, Jenny Offill, Emma Straub, and Rainbow Rowell Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with… Read more »

Divider

Aug 05
Outlander Season 2 – TV Show Review

Outlander Season 2 – TV Show Review

Outlander follows the story of Claire Randall, a married combat nurse from 1945 who is mysteriously swept back in time to 1743, where she is immediately thrown into an unknown world where her life is threatened. When she is forced to marry Jamie Fraser, a chivalrous and romantic young Scottish warrior, a passionate relationship is ignited that tears Claire’s heart between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives. From imdb. Starring: Sam Heughan, Caitriona Balfe Creator: Ronald D. Moore       We here at Chapter Break are very fond of JAMMF and the . And, it turns out,… Read more »

Divider

Aug 02
Chapter Break Bingo – August 2016

Chapter Break Bingo – August 2016

We are starting a new feature for 2016. Monthly Book Bingo! Play along with us! Here are the rules: Each month we will upload a new bingo card. You download the bingo card and mark off squares as you read books each month. At the end of the month, we will post our own bingo cards. Link up your post or post your own bingo card in the comments. The monthly winner will be the person with the most marked squares. None of that across, diagonal, up and down, corners stuff. Just the number of squares. Be sure to include… Read more »

Divider

Jul 30
Chapter Break Bingo – July 2016 Completed Cards

Chapter Break Bingo – July 2016 Completed Cards

Alright everyone, did you fill out your Bookish Bingo Cards? Share your cards, and link up your posts below! Recap of the rules: Each month we will upload a new bingo card. You download the bingo card and mark off squares as you read books each month. At the end of the month, we will post our own bingo cards. Link up your post or post your own bingo card in the comments. The monthly winner will be the person with the most marked squares. None of that across, diagonal, up and down, corners stuff. Just the number of squares…. Read more »

Divider

Jul 29
Book Review – The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayer #1)

Book Review – The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayer #1)

The Accidental Demon Slayer by Angie Fox Series: Demon Slayer #1 Publisher: Love Spell Date Published: 2008 Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Urban Fantasy Format: eBook Pages: 292 Rating: Description: It’s never a good day when an ancient demon shows up on your toilet bowl. For Lizzie Brown, that’s just the beginning. Soon her hyperactive terrier starts talking, and her long-lost biker witch Grandma is hurling Smuckers jars filled with magic. Just when she thinks she’s seen it all, Lizzie learns she’s a demon slayer-and all hell is after her. Of course, that’s not the only thing after her. Dimitri Kallinikos,… Read more »

Divider

Jul 25
Bookish Chat – Ms. Marvel, Vol 1: No Normal

Bookish Chat – Ms. Marvel, Vol 1: No Normal

Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal by Adrian Alphona, G. Willow Wilson Series: Ms. Marvel #1 Publisher: Marvel Date Published: October 28th 2014 Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels, Crime & Mystery, Girls & Women, Superheroes, Young Adult Format: Paperback Pages: 120 Rating: Description: Marvel Comics presents the all-new Ms. Marvel, the groundbreaking heroine that has become an international sensation! Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City – until she is suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the all-new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! As Kamala… Read more »

Divider

Jul 22
Book Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses

Book Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1 Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Date Published: May 5th 2015 Genres: Action & Adventure, Faery, Fairy Tales & Folklore, Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Young Adult Format: Audiobook Pages: 432 Audiobook Length: 16 hours 7 minutes Audiobook Narrator: Jennifer Ikeda Rating: Description: THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the… Read more »

Divider

Jul 21
What Books Taught Us – Why to Picnic

What Books Taught Us – Why to Picnic

Have you checked out our various Features pages lately? Julie and I are all about Features posts. (Who doesn’t need an occasional break from reviews?) In this new feature post, we will be discussing What Books Taught Us. And no, we don’t mean cooking, crafting, or organizing. We are talking about serious, useful skills. Like why to brave the outdoors and go on a picnic.  We want to make sure all of our readers are informed! source Why to Picnic, According to Books Sure there are bugs to contend with, and sunstroke as well (especially here in Texas). But take… Read more »

Divider