Aug 23
Reading Personality quiz

Reading Personality quiz

Book Browse has this cute quiz called: What’s your reading personality? So we thought we’d take it and share our results 🙂   Julie: Your Reading Personality: Exacting Reader! The expression ‘so many books, so little time!’ sums up your life. You love books but you rarely have as much time to read as you’d like – so you’re very particular about the books you choose.   Rose: Your responses showed you fitting into two different groups – the exacting reader and the serial reader. The expression ‘so many books, so little time!’ sums up your life.  You love books but you… Read more »

Divider

Aug 22
That’s what HE said Thursday- August 22, 2013

That’s what HE said Thursday- August 22, 2013

Every Thursday we are hosting a brand new meme called: That’s what HE said Thursday. For more info on what this meme is all about click here. In honor of starting this meme, we are conducting 2 giveaways!!!!! The giveaways will end August 24, 2013 at midnight. (That’s TOMORROW NIGHT!!!!)  Giveaway 1: one lucky participating blogger will win a $15 Gift Card to the book seller of their choice!!! Enter using the Rafflecopter. A link to your post is the only mandatory entry, but other sharing and following options exist for additional entries. To enter giveaway 1, click HERE. Giveaway 2: one commenting follower will win a $10… Read more »

Divider

Aug 21
Calling Me Home Review and Book Club Phone Call with Julie Kibler

Calling Me Home Review and Book Club Phone Call with Julie Kibler

Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler Publisher: St. Martin’s Press Date Published: February 12th 2013 Genres: Contemporary, Historical Fiction, Romance Format: Audiobook Audiobook Length: 13 hrs and 36 mins Audiobook Narrator: Bahni Turpin, Lorna Raver Rating: Description: Eighty-nine-year-old Isabelle McAllister has a big favor to ask her hairdresser, Dorrie. She wants the black single mother to drop everything and drive her from Texas to a funeral in Ohio tomorrow. Dorrie, fleeing problems of her own and curious about Isabelle’s past, agrees, not knowing it will be a journey that changes both their lives. Isabelle confesses that, as a teen in… Read more »

Divider

Aug 20
Beat the Heat Read-a-Thon (July 29 – August 18, 2013) Wrap Up Post #BtHReadathon

Beat the Heat Read-a-Thon (July 29 – August 18, 2013) Wrap Up Post #BtHReadathon

The Beat the Heat Read-a-thon ran from July 29th through August 18th (it was originally August 11th but they extended it!). It was organized by Auntie Spinelli Reads or Phantasmic Reads. Here is our wrap-up post to show how we did. Did we read all the books we planned to read? Did we read more? Did we end up reading different books than we planned? What was our total page count? See below.     Julie’s Read-A-Thon: Planned reads and completion status: Inferno by Dan Brown [Completed 8/18/13. Hardback, approximately 480 pages] City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare [Completed 8/6/13. Paperback, approximately 550 pages] Hold Me Closer, Necromancer… Read more »

Divider

Aug 19
Book Tour: Dark Halo by Shannon Dittemore

Book Tour: Dark Halo by Shannon Dittemore

Dark Halo (Angel Eyes Trilogy #3) by Shannon Dittemore Release Date: August 20, 2013 Summary from Goodreads: One halo brought sight to Brielle. Another offers sweet relief from what she sees. Brielle can’t help but see the Celestial realm. Even without the halo, it’s everywhere she looks. And with the heavens above Stratus ravaged by war, Brielle wishes for another gift, any gift. Because Jake is gone. The only boy she’s ever loved has been taken by the demon, Damien—and she knows if she ever wants to see him again, she must fight. But fighting is so hard when everything you see… Read more »

Divider

Aug 16
Losing It Review

Losing It Review

Losing It by Cora Carmack Series: Losing It #1 Publisher: William Morrow Date Published: December 5, 2012 Genres: New Adult Audiobook Narrator: Phoebe Strole Rating: Description: Virginity. Bliss Edwards is about to graduate from college and still has hers. Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, she decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible—a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no… Read more »

Divider

Aug 16
Feature and Follow Friday – Aug 16, 2013

Feature and Follow Friday – Aug 16, 2013

Feature for Aug 16, 2013 – Share something you’ve learned about book blogging or just blogging in general in the last month.   Rose: This past month I learned that being organized is key to getting read what you need to get read and discipline is key to reviewing what you read.  Sometimes I get so behind or miss out on something I really wanted to check out, whether it be a book signing or free galley or author event and it is because I avoid reading my email like the plague.  However, reading my email is key to remaining organized, which is key to accomplishing my… Read more »

Divider

Aug 15
That’s what HE said Thursday- August 15, 2013

That’s what HE said Thursday- August 15, 2013

Every Thursday we are hosting a brand new meme called: That’s what HE said Thursday. For more info on what this meme is all about click here. In honor of starting this meme, we are conducting 2 giveaways!!!!! We have extended the giveaways! YAY! The giveaways will end August 23, 2013 at midnight. Giveaway 1: one lucky participating blogger will win a $15 Gift Card to the book seller of their choice!!! Enter using the Rafflecopter. A link to your post is the only mandatory entry, but other sharing and following options exist for additional entries. To enter giveaway 1, click HERE. Giveaway 2: one commenting follower… Read more »

Divider

Aug 12
Summer of Love Blog and Giveaway Hop

Summer of Love Blog and Giveaway Hop

Welcome to Chapter Break’s stop in Gliterary Girl‘s Summer of Love hop! We are a tour host with Gliterary Girl and are excited to participate. I was trying to think up some summer reading recommendations for a romance theme, and then I realized I don’t really read summery romance type of books. My co-blogger does though. But in any case I thought I would recommend a few romance books I’ve read this summer and also link to some cool Goodreads Listopias for this theme. Some standalone romance-y books I read this summer, sticking to those with a happy ending: Losing… Read more »

Divider

Aug 09
What Really Happened in Peru Review

What Really Happened in Peru Review

What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare Series: The Bane Chronicles Part #1 Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books Genres: Paranormal Format: eBook Pages: April 16, 2013 Source: Free read on pulseit.com Rating: Description: Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why. One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles. There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances… Read more »

Divider