Jul 30
Chapter Break Bingo – July 2016 Completed Cards

Chapter Break Bingo – July 2016 Completed Cards

Alright everyone, did you fill out your Bookish Bingo Cards? Share your cards, and link up your posts below! Recap of the rules: Each month we will upload a new bingo card. You download the bingo card and mark off squares as you read books each month. At the end of the month, we will post our own bingo cards. Link up your post or post your own bingo card in the comments. The monthly winner will be the person with the most marked squares. None of that across, diagonal, up and down, corners stuff. Just the number of squares…. Read more »

Divider

Jul 29
Book Review – The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayer #1)

Book Review – The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayer #1)

The Accidental Demon Slayer by Angie Fox Series: Demon Slayer #1 Publisher: Love Spell Date Published: 2008 Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Urban Fantasy Format: eBook Pages: 292 Rating: Description: It’s never a good day when an ancient demon shows up on your toilet bowl. For Lizzie Brown, that’s just the beginning. Soon her hyperactive terrier starts talking, and her long-lost biker witch Grandma is hurling Smuckers jars filled with magic. Just when she thinks she’s seen it all, Lizzie learns she’s a demon slayer-and all hell is after her. Of course, that’s not the only thing after her. Dimitri Kallinikos,… Read more »

Divider

Jul 27
Are we Turning into a Dystopian Novel? a Guest Post

Are we Turning into a Dystopian Novel? a Guest Post

Today we have a guest post on a more serious note. A lot more serious. If you know me, you know I hate people first, and then make exceptions later. Because people suck. They really do. This guest post from a fellow blogger laments the fact that society might be devolving into something we only want to read about in a dystopian novel. Don’t agree? Just watch the news (something I avoid doing because it is depressing). Think to some of your favorite dystopian novels and what their societies are like – are we headed in that direction? I know… Read more »

Divider

Jul 25
Bookish Chat – Ms. Marvel, Vol 1: No Normal

Bookish Chat – Ms. Marvel, Vol 1: No Normal

Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal by Adrian Alphona, G. Willow Wilson Series: Ms. Marvel #1 Publisher: Marvel Date Published: October 28th 2014 Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels, Crime & Mystery, Girls & Women, Superheroes, Young Adult Format: Paperback Pages: 120 Rating: Description: Marvel Comics presents the all-new Ms. Marvel, the groundbreaking heroine that has become an international sensation! Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City – until she is suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the all-new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! As Kamala… Read more »

Divider

Jul 24
Chat Between Chapters: X-Mas in July

Chat Between Chapters: X-Mas in July

It’s July, so let’s get ready to talk about Christmas. IKR? What’s on your wishlists?  Julie: I’m with Lynn… need to invent a thing called more free time to read. Let’s see, though, what would be on my wishlist. I’m horrible at these things. The next . Because that series rocks. Even if I still have to read book 9. I still want 10. The print books. Because they are the pretty. And I did them on audio. . Because. All the Colleen Hoover books I haven’t read. To add to my collection. So, in print. I have a shelf…. Read more »

Divider

Jul 22
Book Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses

Book Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1 Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Date Published: May 5th 2015 Genres: Action & Adventure, Faery, Fairy Tales & Folklore, Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Young Adult Format: Audiobook Pages: 432 Audiobook Length: 16 hours 7 minutes Audiobook Narrator: Jennifer Ikeda Rating: Description: THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the… Read more »

Divider

Jul 21
What Books Taught Us – Why to Picnic

What Books Taught Us – Why to Picnic

Have you checked out our various Features pages lately? Julie and I are all about Features posts. (Who doesn’t need an occasional break from reviews?) In this new feature post, we will be discussing What Books Taught Us. And no, we don’t mean cooking, crafting, or organizing. We are talking about serious, useful skills. Like why to brave the outdoors and go on a picnic.  We want to make sure all of our readers are informed! source Why to Picnic, According to Books Sure there are bugs to contend with, and sunstroke as well (especially here in Texas). But take… Read more »

Divider

Jul 19
How Stories Change us on an Emotional Level, Guest Post by Kellie Coates Gilbert #LoneStarLit

How Stories Change us on an Emotional Level, Guest Post by Kellie Coates Gilbert #LoneStarLit

  WHAT MATTERS MOST (TEXAS GOLD COLLECTION BOOK #4)  by Kellie Coates Gilbert Genre: Contemporary Inspirational Romance / Christian Publisher: Revell Date of Publication: July 5, 2016 Number of Pages: 320 Scroll down for Giveaway!     Love and Politics Collide in This Emotion-Packed Fourth Texas Gold Novel   Kellie Coates Gilbert strikes gold once again in the latest book in the Texas Gold Collection. Readers will be drawn into the story through Gilbert’s deeply emotional writing that highlights the complexities of human relationships.   Out of her desire to care for her mother who is suffering from dementia, Leta Breckenridge drops… Read more »

Divider

Jul 17
Chat Between Chapters: Embrace Your Geekness

Chat Between Chapters: Embrace Your Geekness

 Let’s all embrace our inner Geek and share what makes us geek out!  Julie: Geeking out is great fun. It is even more fun to geek out with some friends, and all be silly laughing messes together. True story. Let’s see, some of my most memorable geeking out moments include: Going to the Supernatural convention in Dallas and geeking out with hubby during the panels. And and and – the famous family photo – the one with me and my husband, and my giant pregnant belly, with Jensen and Jared. Yep, that family photo is hanging in my hallway. Near my… Read more »

Divider

Jul 15
Book Blind Date – July 2016

Book Blind Date – July 2016

  Go out on a Blind Date with a book and Chapter Break! Can’t decide what to read next? How about trying a blind date with a book. Below you’ll find some book covers that I drew myself! And by drew, I used the computer because my hand writing/drawing skills are sub par. Click on the picture to take you to the book. Then get to reading. Or add it to your ever-growing TBR list. I’ve been on a Sci Fi kick lately, so I was inspired! And it’s clip art heavy, because I’m feeling lazy. And, these may seen… Read more »

Divider