Posts By: Lynn

Oct 28
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Movie Review

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Movie Review

Description: When Jacob discovers clues to a mystery that spans different worlds and times, he finds a magical place known as Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. But the mystery and danger deepen as he gets to know the residents and learns about their special powers… and their powerful enemies. Ultimately, Jacob discovers that only his own special “peculiarity” can save his new friends. Director: Tim Burton Staring: Eva Green, Asa Butterfield Info from IMDB   I don’t really remember much about reading Miss Peregrine. Outside of being bored. And worrying that the super creepy photos mean the book would be… Read more »

Divider

Oct 24
Book Review – A Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons 1)

Book Review – A Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons 1)

The Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons Book 1) by Kaitlyn Davis Series: Dance of Dragons #1 Publisher: Kaitlyn Davis Date Published: February 13th 2015 Genres: Coming of Age, Dragons, Unicorns & Mythical, Fantasy & Magic, Legends, Myths, Fables, Young Adult Format: eBook Pages: 300 Rating: Description: From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes a fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Kristin Cashore, and Tamora Pierce! Told in alternating male and female perspectives, THE SHADOW SOUL has been hailed as “an amazing start to a new series that is going to have people of all ages wanting so… Read more »

Divider

Oct 21
Book Review – The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)

Book Review – The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court #1)

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead Series: The Glittering Court #1 Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group Date Published: 2016-04 Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult Format: Audiobook Pages: 416 Audiobook Length: 12 hours 53 minutes Audiobook Narrator: Kristen Sieh Rating: Description: Big and sweeping, spanning from the refined palaces of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape an arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join the Glittering Court…. Read more »

Divider

Oct 20
What Books Taught Us -Time Travel

What Books Taught Us -Time Travel

Have you checked out our various Features pages lately? Julie and I are all about Features posts. (Who doesn’t need an occasional break from reviews?) In this new feature post, we will be discussing What Books Taught Us. And no, we don’t mean cooking, crafting, or organizing. We are talking about serious, useful skills. Like how to Time Travel. We want to make sure all of our readers are prepared! We all know the tricky rules to time travel. These books have helped us keep those rules straight. Find a magical passageway and meet a Highlander: I don’t know if… Read more »

Divider

Oct 13
Chat About Covers: The Star King

Chat About Covers: The Star King

  We’re starting a new feature here on Chapter Break called Chat About Covers. ‘Cause you know we all judge books by covers, whether we admit it or not. We judge the style, the color and font choices, and just the overall look. That might not keep us from reading the book, but we do still judge.   Oh my! Where to start! Yes, I’m with Lynn, WTF is that tied up body part? Or is it even a body part? Looks like somebody’s booty, but maybe it is actual booty, a bag of loot? Like a pirate’s loot? Is… Read more »

Divider

Oct 12
Showcase Blog Tour and Giveaway: Short Stories by Texas Authors, Volume 2 #LoneStarLit

Showcase Blog Tour and Giveaway: Short Stories by Texas Authors, Volume 2 #LoneStarLit

SHORT STORIES BY TEXAS AUTHORS Volume 2  Short Stories by Texas Authors, Volume 2 is comprised of winning stories submitted in an annual contest to highlight Texas Authors while raising money for literacy programs.    Genre: Short Stories Publisher: Texas Authors, Inc. Date of Publication: October 3, 2016 # of pages: 110 Scroll down for Giveaway!   Texas Authors have once again allowed their creative minds to open up and expand the Universe in which they live with short stories that captures one’s emotions through the everlasting aspect of storytelling. In this, the second volume of award winning short stories,… Read more »

Divider

Oct 03
Chapter Break Bingo – October 2016

Chapter Break Bingo – October 2016

We are starting a new feature for 2016. Monthly Book Bingo! Play along with us! Here are the rules: Each month we will upload a new bingo card. You download the bingo card and mark off squares as you read books each month. At the end of the month, we will post our own bingo cards. Link up your post or post your own bingo card in the comments. The monthly winner will be the person with the most marked squares. None of that across, diagonal, up and down, corners stuff. Just the number of squares. Be sure to include… Read more »

Divider

Sep 30
Chapter Break Bingo – September 2016 Completed Cards

Chapter Break Bingo – September 2016 Completed Cards

Alright everyone, did you fill out your Bookish Bingo Cards? Share your cards, and link up your posts below! Recap of the rules: Each month we will upload a new bingo card. You download the bingo card and mark off squares as you read books each month. At the end of the month, we will post our own bingo cards. Link up your post or post your own bingo card in the comments. The monthly winner will be the person with the most marked squares. None of that across, diagonal, up and down, corners stuff. Just the number of squares…. Read more »

Divider

Sep 29
What Books Taught Us – Back to School

What Books Taught Us – Back to School

Have you checked out our various Features pages lately? Julie and I are all about Features posts. (Who doesn’t need an occasional break from reviews?) In this new feature post, we will be discussing What Books Taught Us. And no, we don’t mean cooking, crafting, or organizing. We are talking about serious, useful skills. Like how to survive going back to school! We want to make sure all of our readers are prepared!   Be optimistic for the new school year: Every year, Harry Potter heads off to school, his real home. Living with his aunt and uncle is not pleasant…. Read more »

Divider

Sep 26
Oh, how the years fly by! Book Tour, Review, and Giveaway! #LoneStarLit

Oh, how the years fly by! Book Tour, Review, and Giveaway! #LoneStarLit

Oh, how the years fly by! A whimsical coloring journey. . . & A whimsical inspirational journey . . . by Annette Bridges Genre: Inspirational Adult Coloring & Quote Books Date of Publication: August 1, 2016 Publisher: Ranch House Press # of pages: 72     Scroll down for Giveaway! Oh, how the years fly by! A whimsical coloring journey is an adult coloring book that features thirty vibrant original illustrations and quotes that will take you on an enchanting voyage of reflection. Be reminded of the simple pleasures that make you feel happy. Find the encouragement you need to… Read more »

Divider